Rehumanisation and the Job Centre

Because I like to think I’m a fair person, I thought it only right to type a quick blog following my latest visit to the Job Centre. Sadly, it makes nowhere near as interesting reading as my last blog, but I feel I should add it in the name of balance.

This past Friday I actually had a very positive visit to the Job Centre. I spoke to a lady who addressed me like a human being, listened to what I said, and – shock horror – smiled and tried to make the whole process a lot less painful. Unfortunately when I told her of my circumstances (self-employed, running two businesses and looking for part-time work) she said she needed to refer me to one of her colleagues, but thankfully they’d had a no-show and were available immediately.

In an even more bizarre twist, the second lady was very helpful too. Apparently the person I saw last week had not registered my details correctly – apparently she didn’t make any note of my self-employed status (I wonder why? Hmm…) – but the lady I spoke with apologised and arranged for me to complete the correct forms. I told her of my experience the previous week and she was visibly horrified by the way I had been treated, and apologised some more. She then went off to get some more paperwork and when she returned, informed me that she had told her manager of what had happened and that they would look into it. She apologised once more and then talked me through what I need to do from now on.

So there we go. Not my most interesting blog post, but an important one for fairness nonetheless.

Now if only our lovely ConDemNation would learn a thing or two about fairness…

Tagged , , , ,

Leave a Reply

